• Home
  • Cherry Picked - Visual art professor named Woodyard award winner

Visual art professor named Woodyard award winner

Tuesday, December 10, 2013

LAWRENCE — Visual Art Professor Jon Havener is the 2013 recipient of the George and Eleanor Woodyard International Educator Award. The award presentation will be at 3:30 p.m. Wednesday, Dec. 11, in the Centennial Room of the Kansas Union.

The award, coordinated by the Office of International Programs, was endowed by the late George Woodyard, the first dean of international studies, and his wife, Eleanor. It recognizes faculty on the Lawrence campus who have demonstrated outstanding leadership in strengthening the University of Kansas’ international dimension in such areas as curriculum development, study abroad programs, relationships with international partner institutions and collaboration with international colleagues in significant research and publications.

“This year's nominees were exceptional, making the selection process highly competitive for this prestigious award. The breadth of Professor Havener's work to further international education in a number of different countries stood out to the review committee as being worthy of this year’s Woodyard International Educator Award,” said Dena Register, director of faculty programs.

Havener’s colleagues in the Department of Visual Art nominated him because of his 36 years of “leadership in bringing an international perspective to KU through his research, teaching and service activities.” His internationalization commitments include In 2005 creating the Korean War Memorial on Memorial Drive, which led to an exchange program with Kookmin University in Seoul, Korea, for students and faculty in the metalsmithing and jewelry program. He also developed a study abroad program at Lahti University Institute of Design in Lahti, Finland. Havener’s relationships with European scholars led to exhibition opportunities for students and faculty at the Ostholstein Museum in Eutin, Germany.

Havener’s recognition of the importance of internationalization has led to more than 24 students from KU, Korea and Finland studying abroad for at least a full semester, six professors from Finland and Korea teaching at KU, and five KU professors teaching abroad, wrote Mary Anne Jordan, chair of the Department of Visual Art, in her nomination letter.

Past recipients of the award (formerly known as the Provost's Award for Leadership in International Education): Erik Herron, political science (2012); Raj Bhala, law (2011); Peter Herlihy, geography, (2010); Elizabeth Kuznesof, history, (2009); Ed Canda, social welfare, (2008); Bill Tsutsui, history (2007); John Head, law (2006); Anita Herzfeld, Latin American studies (2005); Marsha Haufler, art history (2004); Garth Myers, geography and African-American studies, and Robert Timm, ecology and evolutionary biology (2003); Melissa Birch, business, and Diane Fourny, French and European studies (2002); Judith McCrea, art and design (2001); Leo Villalon, political science and African and African-American studies (2000); Tom Mulinazzi, civil, environmental and architectural engineering and Charles Stansifer, history (1999).

KU Endowment is the independent, nonprofit organization serving as the official fundraising and fund-management organization for KU. Founded in 1891, KU Endowment was the first foundation of its kind at a U.S. public university.

One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times
KU Today